Tags

One consistent theme I have noticed in running events across the US is the free beer offered after the run is completed. And that is something I can never comprehend or understand.

Why do you need to have a beer after doing a marathon run? Your body definitely needs fluids and nutrients to be replenished – liquor should be the last means to do that. A simple google search on this question would throw you  a list of “research” – advocating both options.

However I would stick to the basic fundamentals – do I consider a liquor based diet necessary for my training? If no, then a beer after the run certainly doesn’t make sense to me. And till date, all the free beer coupons I have received for the marathon events I have attended have mostly gone to the trash can.

Open to views from fellow runners on this query – what’s your thought on this?

