Tags

,

Just back from the evening show of Wake Up Sid – nice movie, simple theme, with nice songs and decent acting by most of the actors. Probably Karan Johar had enough of wooing the NRI segment, so now he’s targeting the youngistan crowd, bachelors living it out in metros working for IT and various other industries. Admit it, every single one of us at some point of the movie would have had the moment when he/she found something in common with his/her past few years and Sid’s life – that was the point of the movie I guess.

Although Karan Johar sidelined the very basic issues of living it out in Mumbai – escalating costs, traffic issues, etc etc. Imagine this, Konkana Sen – without a job or income, is able to manage a decently large 1bhk in Worli area right next to the beach and then spends possibly a fortune trying to “make the house her home” by painting and buying all kinds of furniture. If I had to do it myself, I would be looking at an amount not less than 1 – 2 lakhs of expenses!

Leaving aside all that (after all, its supposed to be a movie 😛) Mr. Johar in the later half makes use of an age old custom – giving your first pay check to your father. Obviously as a token of respect I understand. I have seen this happening in reel life and real life – and that is something that puzzles me like hell. Ok, its a mark of respect, for all the stuff your parents have done for you. But what’s the big deal? I did not do it with my first salary post engineering, neither did I do it post MBA. Its not that I don’t care or respect my parents – its just that I would rather save it for a later time when the money is required; maybe to me, to my parents, to anybody! My parents know this, and they are completely fine with it.

A few months back, a friend of mine spent the entire first month salary buying arbit gifts for his family – jewelery, that wasn’t required at that point of time; and spent the rest of the month on a shoe string budget borrowing money from me and others. His family is extremely well to do – most of the gifts probably went into the locker, among the many more they already had. What was the purpose of all that I wonder. He had no answer of course.

Maybe we need to relook at some of our age old customs, even the ones that seem harmless. Nagesh Kukunoor had a dig at this in Hyderabad Blues – I loved his point of argument in the movie when he again and again stressed at making use of the best of two cultures, American and Indian and neglect the rest. Probably we all need to do the same in our lives.

